History – The story of the Palace
The history of the house reaches all the way back to the Middle Ages and in particular to the Hussite period. The oldest parts of the building contain unique three-storey cellars which tell of a complicated construction process. They were made up of several rooms and connected with neighbouring houses and even with the medieval silver mines of Kutná Hora. The original flat ceilings were replaced with vaults after the Hussite wars, thus covering the original arcades and creating beautiful spaces typical for historic houses of Kutná Hora.
The Palace was mentioned for the first time in a topographic work by Jan Fiala in 1453. The house – at that time more likely a ruin – was located in the fish market and was bought by Václav Šandra for 1020 Prague groschens (roughly half a million Czech crowns in today’s money). He renovated the house and extended it towards what is now Husova Street.
The house changed owners a few times in the 16th century; however, there were no significant construction changes. One significant reconstruction happened after the Thirty Years´ War (1618-48), when the price of the house increased incredibly. 145 years later, in 1783, the house was bought by Anna and Karel Hořický for 1000 guldens (roughly 3.6 million Czech crowns) and it stayed in the family until the beginning of the 20th century.
The present form of the house most reflects the second Baroque reconstruction, which saw the creation of a late Baroque façade (1774-83) with the main entrance facing onto Šultysova street. The original gate is formed with the relief of a lion’s head. On the first floor is a balcony with wrought-iron railings, the top of the shield is dominated by a bust of the Roman emperor. At the corner of Šultysova and Huss Street, a baroque wooden statue of St John of Nepomuk can be seen at first-floor level. At the entrance portal with the balcony, the influence of Santini’s architecture is very noticeable. The author is probably his close collaborator James Vogler. Also the windows on the first floor show the same lining as in Santini’s castle Karlova Koruna in Chlumec nad Cidllinou.
Between 1885 and 1903 some extensive construction projects were undertaken, and in those years a café and wine bar opened under the private residence.
In 2016 the present owner Jiří Machalický had the whole house renovated, a process which included the redevelopment of the historic cellar areas, where a private wine bank called the Wine Gothic Club is now located. And as a reminder of the splendid former residence, luxury accommodation was created on the first and second floors for discerning guests who are seeking a unique experience here in the very heart of Kutná Hora.